Create the new Scheduling Year

Creating the New Year is still done in Administrator's Plus Classic (AdminPlus Classic), regardless of your AdminPlus.com editing settings.

Only schools who have requested to be edit enabled in AdminPlus.com will have access to the AdminPlus.com Edit Screen.

Please remember there is another set of steps to do at the end of the Current School Year and before the start of the New School Year.

If at any point during this process you run into a problem, or get an error, please contact tech support immediately as support@rediker.com. If you would prefer to have a trainer walk you through this process, please contact your account rep.

Prerequisites

Before starting, some things must be done, and some questions answered:

  • Must be logged in as Supervisor in AdminPlus Classic.
  • All users will need to be logged out of AdminPlus Classic.

    Go to Help  > Logged in Users to ensure no users are logged in.

  • All users will need to be logged out of AdminPlus.com.

    Go to Users > View Currently Logged In Column to ensure no users are logged in. 

  • Although it does NOT matter what the Edit/View settings are for AdminPlus.com to create the New Year, editing DOES have to be set for AdminPlus Classic to do the steps to Retain Students and to delete Inactive Students and Staff.
  • Will you have any students who are currently in the highest Grade Level who will be retained and returning next year?
    If so, you will need to follow the directions in the Retaining Students section.
  • Does your school use AdmissionsPlus?
    If so, you will need to follow the directions in the Sync the New Scheduling Year with AdmissionsPlus section.
  • Will you want to see the new Scheduling Year in AdminPlus.com?
    If so, you will need to follow the directions in the Enable the Scheduling Year to be seen in AdminPlus.com section.
  • Will you want to use an AdminPlus Online Form (with AP OLF.com) in the Scheduling Year? If so, you will need to follow the directions in the Enable use of an AP OLF.com form in the Scheduling Year section.

Step by Step Video

This 13 minute video follows the steps listed below. 


Detailed List of Steps to Create the New School Year

  1. Verify no one is logged into AdminPlus.com.
  2. Verify no one is logged into AdminPlus Classic.
    1. Go to Help > Logged in Users.
  3. Lock AdminPlus Classic so that no one logs in while you are working (an hour should be plenty of time, and you can unlock once you are finished).
    1. Go to File > Lock/Unlock AdminPlus.
  4. Create the New Year
    1. Verify you are in the Current School Year.
    2. Go to File > Create Year.
    3. Confirm Current School Year is highlighted > click select.
    4. Confirm the 2027-28 school year is displayed > click next.
    5. Click Done on the Congratulations window.
    6. Click Yes on the Scheduling Year Warning.
  5. Switch to the New Scheduling Year.
  6. If you have students in your highest grade level who will be retained and returning next year, follow these Retaining Students instructions:
    1. If applicable, change/confirm the AdminPlus.com editing settings for Demographics are set to AdminPlus.
    2. Verify you are in the New Scheduling Year.
    3. Go to Data Base > New Files, look up the student to be retained.
    4. Click the Other (F9) button, and select #2 Move to another Grade Level.
    5. Select one grade level below your highest and demote the student to that grade level.
      For example, if the student is in 12th grade in Prior School Year, and will be returning next year in New School Year for 12th grade again, you will first demote them to 11th grade, and then when beginning is run, they will be 'promoted' to the 12th grade.
    6. Repeat for any other students who might be retained in the new year.
  7. Run the Beginning Program.
    1. Verify you are in the New Scheduling Year.
    2. Go to Data Base > Beginning.
      All of the data that is being erased was copied from Prior School Year, and will always be available in the that school year. Erasing it will make the new Scheduling Year "empty" and ready for New School Year's data.
      Check boxes 1-5. This will:
      1. Promote all students to the next grade level.
      2. Erase all of the Prior Year's Attendance data to make room for New School Year's Calendar and Attendance.
      3. Erase all of the Prior Year's Schedule and Grades to make room for New School Year's Schedule and Grades.
      4. Erase all of the Prior Year's Discipline to make room for New School Year's Discipline.
      5. Erase all of the Prior Year's Billing to make room for New School Year's Billing.

List of Optional Steps (if applicable)

This next set of steps are optional, and should only be completed if applicable to your school.

  1. Delete all Inactive Students and Staff. (Recommended, but optional)
    Remember, they will always be available in Prior School Year, you are just deleting them from New School Year.
    You should always start the new year with only Active Students. 

    For schools using AdminPlus.com, the Check for Returning Student feature is not currently available. If a student who attended the school in a previous year was deleted from the Active Year and later returns, the system will not recognize the student as a returning student when receiving records from Admissions. For this reason, this step is now optional. 

    1. If applicable, confirm the AdminPlus.com editing settings for Demographics are set to AdminPlus.
    2. Verify you are in the New Scheduling Year.
    3. Go to Data Base > New Files.
      1. Select the second lowest grade level in the drop down menu
        (there are no students in the lowest grade level, they were just promoted up to the second lowest grade level)
      2. Click the Other (F9) button, and select #7 Delete all inactive students
      3. Any inactive student from the Prior School Year will appear in this list with a checkmark.
      4. If they are returning in the New School Year, uncheck their name.
      5. When you click Next, any student who has a checkmark will be deleted from the New School Year.
      6. Select the next grade level, click the Other button, select #7 - do this for every grade level.
      7. Repeat the process for the STAFF grade level.
    4. If applicable, change the AdminPlus.com editing settings for Demographics back to the way they were before starting the Creating a New Year process.
  2. Sync the New Scheduling Year with AdmissionsPlus.
    1. Verify you are in the New Scheduling Year.
    2. Go to Data Base > New Files
      1. Click HB: Admissions
      2. Click yes to sync
      3. Click done
      4. Select #1 and click Next to sync with Admissions.
      5. Close out of all the windows, including the New Files screen
  3. Sync the student data from the Scheduling Year.
    1. Verify you are in the Current Active Year .
    2. Go to Tools > TeacherPlus Setup & Sync Manager.
      1. Click on "Send (Sync) Settings".
      2. Set #6 "Send Scheduling Year Student Data" to Yes.
      3. Click Done and Exit.
  4. Enable the Scheduling Year to be seen in AdminPlus.com.
    1. Verify you are in the Current Active Year.
    2. Go to Setup > General > AdminPlus.com Settings.
      1. Set "Enable Scheduling Year in AdminPlus.com" to Yes.
  5. Enable use of an AP OLF.com form in the Scheduling Year.
    1. Follow the steps for Enable the Scheduling Year to be seen in AdminPlus.com (see section 3 above).
    2. Switch to the Scheduling Year.
    3. Go to Tools > TeacherPlus Setup & Sync Manager.
      1. Click on "All Data (Since Year Start)".
      2. Click Done and Exit.
    4. Go to the Online Forms Manager > Application Site Settings > Confirm the settings for "Show forms For Which Years" under Account Settings.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.